Skip to main content
Sheriff in Uniform

Concealed Carry Permits

About Concealed Carry

In the Ohio attorney general’s publication, “CCW" stands for “carrying a concealed weapon” and refers to the Ohio license to carry a concealed handgun pursuant to Ohio Revised Code Section 2923.1225. The publication is a summary of prevailing firearms and self-defense laws and may be updated without notice. It is not intended to be a substitute for the advice of a lawyer or common sense. The revised code is available online and may be found at law libraries and some public libraries. Citizens are encouraged to read the law themselves and use that publication as a guide.

The following information is being provided to give citizens guidance in applying for a Concealed Carry Permit in Lucas County. Do not bring your firearm to the Lucas County Sheriff’s Office.

  1. You must be at least 21 years of age and first obtain a certificate of training issued by a certified instructor. (The total time required for training is eight hours with a minimum of two hours of in-person training, which consists of range time and live-fire training.) This training is not offered by the Lucas County Sheriff’s Office. To locate a class, check with local sporting goods stores, gun shops, clubs, colleges, etc.
  2. Ensure that the instructor offering the weapons training have a certificate of training from a national gun advocacy organization or the Ohio Police Officer Training Academy and that he or she is certified as an instructor to teach firearms training. Ask to see credentials and certification.
  3. Upon successful completion of the training and receipt of a firearms’ training certificate (valid for three years from the date of issuance) from the training entity, you must obtain a “CCW Application Form” and the “Ohio Concealed Carry Law Pamphlet” as prepared by the Ohio Attorney General’s Office. The forms should be made available to you where you obtained your weapons training or online.
  4. Only one applicant will be processed at a time. Your completed application, documentation and method of payment will be reviewed for completeness and accuracy. Your fingerprints will be captured through the WebCheck electronic fingerprinting system and sent electronically to the Bureau of Criminal Investigation and Identification for a background check. If you have not been a resident of the state of Ohio for the past five consecutive years, your fingerprints will also be submitted electronically to the FBI. Your photo will be taken for your CCW license. (You are still required to supply the photo for your application.) If the WebCheck system is unavailable, or if we are unable to successfully capture your fingerprints, we will ink roll your fingerprints on a fingerprint card specific for CCW and mail them to BCI/FBI for submission. (This may delay the response time.)
  5. You must provide all required documentation (listed below) to conduct the required background investigation by the Lucas County Sheriff’s Office. You must also pass a federal NICS (National Instant Criminal Background Check System) check to obtain an Ohio CCW license. The required NICS check is not done at a licensed gun dealer. Within 45 days of your application’s processing, you will be notified by phone of the issuance of your CCW License. If you have any questions about something that you believe to be in your background, you should contact an attorney prior to applying. (See the Eligibility Guidelines.)

You will be contacted by certified return receipt mail to advise you if your application has been denied and the reason for the denial.

If you cannot purchase a gun from a federally licensed gun dealer, you will not be able to obtain an Ohio CCW license.

Carry Conceal Procedure and Eligibility

Required Documentation

If you are applying for the first time, you will need the following:

  • Current application (can be obtained at www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov)
  • Original training certificate (no online CCW certificates will be accepted)
  • Driver’s license or state of Ohio-issued identification card
  • One Color “professional passport-sized” (2-inch by 2-inch) photo taken within the last 30 days
  • Appropriate fees (see the Fee Schedule)

If you are a retired member of law enforcement with a minimum of 15 years of employment, the application fee is waived. If you are applying for you CCW license no longer than five years from your date of retirement, the following documentation replaces the training certificate:

  • Department-issued retired identification card
  • Letter from your agency stating your years of employment and that you have left in good standing
  • Most recent range scores

If more than five years have passed since you retired, but you currently qualify for the H.R. 218 (LEOSA) license, you may submit those range scores in lieu of a training certificate. If you have not qualified within five years from your date of retirement, you will need to take a CCW course. CCW training certificates are valid for three years.

If you are an Ohio resident and are active-duty military, or if you have an honorable discharge with a separation date that does not exceed 10 years from the date of application, the following documentation replaces the training certificate:

  • Military-issued identification card (if active duty, including reserves)
  • DD214 showing an honorable discharge within the last 10 years
  • Proof of current weapons training (i.e., range proficiency, weapons card, etc.)

If you are an out-of-state resident but are stationed in Lucas County as active-duty military, you will need the above documentation along with the military orders placing you in Lucas County.

Eligibility Guidelines

You will be disqualified if any of the following applies.

You have been charged or are under indictment for:

  • Any felony
  • Drug trafficking
  • Misdemeanor offense of violence
  • Negligent assault
  • Falsification to obtain CCW license
  • Possessing a revoked or suspended CCW license
  • Conspiracy, complicity or attempt to commit any of the above offenses

You have been convicted or have been adjudicated a delinquent child under the following offenses:

  • Any felony
  • Any drug offense
  • Assault on a peace officer
  • Domestic violence
  • Conspiracy, complicity or attempt to commit any of the above offenses

You have been convicted or have been adjudicated a delinquent child under the following offenses within three years:

  • A misdemeanor offense of violence
  • Assault (903.13)
  • Aggravated menacing (2903.21)
  • Menacing by stalking (2903.21.1)
  • Menacing (2903.22)
  • Arson (2909.03)
  • Riot (2917.03)
  • Endangering children (2919.22)
  • Intimidating a victim or witness (2921.04)
  • Escape (2919.2)
  • Discharge of firearm at or into a habitation or school safety zone (2923.16.1)

If you have ever been convicted of or charged with an offense of violence ORC 2901.01 or an offense, other than traffic offenses, under an existing or former municipal ordinance or law of this or any other state or the United States, committed purposely or knowingly, and involving physical harm to persons or a risk of serious physical harm to persons. This includes any conspiracy or attempt to commit, or complicity in committing, any offense of violence.

If you have been convicted or have been adjudicated a delinquent child under the following offenses within five years: two or more assaults or two or more negligent assaults.

If you have been convicted or have been adjudicated a delinquent child under the following offenses within five years: resisting arrest.

If you are or have been adjudicated as a mental defective: committed to any mental institution; under a current adjudication of incompetence; been found by a court to be a mentally ill person; subject to hospitalization by court order; or an involuntary patient other than for the purposes of observation.

If you are an unlawful user of any controlled substance.

If you are subject to any temporary protection order or civil protection order in Ohio or any other state.

If you are a fugitive from justice.

If you have had a CCW license issued by another state suspended.

If you have been discharged from the Armed Forces under dishonorable conditions.

CCW License Renewal Process and Fee Schedule

If you are renewing your current license, you will need the following:

  • Current application (can be obtained at www.ohioattorneygeneral.gov)
  • Current state of Ohio driver’s license or state of Ohio-issued identification card
  • Current CCW license

Please note that at this time we are not accepting certificates issued from online CCW courses.

For fees, please see the fee schedule below.

If this is your first renewal, it Is not necessary to attach a copy of your training certificate to your renewal application. Present your valid or expired Ohio CCW license with your application.

If you are renewing your license for the second or subsequent time, no additional training is necessary.

Fee Schedule (All fees are nonrefundable)

  • New Issue – Residence for more than five continuous years: $67
  • New Issue – Residence for less than five continuous years: $77
  • New Issue – Non-resident (employed or stationed in Ohio: $77
  • Renewal – Resident for more than five continuous years: $50
  • Renewal – Resident for less than five continuous years: $60
  • Renewal – Non-resident (employed or stationed in Ohio): $60
  • Temporary Emergency – Resident for more than five continuous years: $37
  • Temporary Emergency – Resident for less than five continuous years: $47
  • Temporary Emergency – Non-resident temporarily in Ohio: $47
  • Replacement: $15

All CCW fees must be paid with cash or a money order (made out to “Lucas County Sheriff’s Office”). No personal checks or credit cards are accepted.

For lost or stolen CCW license replacements, name changes or address changes, please bring your current state of Ohio driver’s license or state of Ohio-issued identification card.

You will have the option to either pick up or have the approved license mailed to you.

If more than 30 days have passed since your CCW license expired, you will need to bring your training document and a new passport-sized photo taken in the last 30 days.

Renewals from another county will be treated like a new application but will be charged the renewal fee. You will need your training document and a passport-sized photo taken in the last 30 days.

For further questions about obtaining or renewing your CCW license, please call 419-213-4920, Monday to Friday from 8:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.

Book Appointment