Skip to main content
Officers in Room Watching Monitor

The Lucas County Corrections Center

The Lucas County Corrections Center is a full-service adult detention facility located in downtown Toledo at 1622 Spielbusch Avenue. Opened in 1977, this nine-level facility has six inmate housing floors (with a recommended capacity of 403 inmates) and a booking area. The Corrections Center is essentially a pre-trial facility; most inmates are being held on serious felony charges. Inmates can participate in a counseling services, religious services, drug and alcohol treatment, recreational activities, library hours, non-contact visitations and medical services.

The Corrections Center’s booking area (the primary entry and release point for all detainees) is approved to hold a maximum of 65 inmates. Upon the initial intake of any person into the facility, the booking area conducts a medical screening, an inventory and safekeeping of any personal property, and a body scan of the inmate. Additional processes include state-mandated DNA collection, fingerprinting and mugshots. All inmates will then have assessments conducted by Pretrial Services and Inmate Services personnel. The booking area averages 15,430 inmates a year.

Corrections Division Command Staff

Corrections Administrator

Major John Sylvester
419-213-4945
jsylvester@co.lucas.oh.us

Director of Jail Security

Captain David Friddell
419-213-4980
dfriddell@co.lucas.oh.us

Booking Lieutenant

Robert Chromik
419-213-4940
rchromik@co.lucas.oh.us

Jail Lieutenant

Kurt Weber
419-213-4801
kweber@co.lucas.oh.us

Jail Lieutenant

Craig Brownridge
419-213-4398
cbrownridge@co.lucas.oh.us

Jail Lieutenant

Gary Condon
419-213-4398
gcondon@co.lucas.oh.us